One With Nature

I love flowers on my nature walks

This was taken with my Nikon D7100 and my Nikon 70-300 mm lens. Love the bokeh!

When I’m feeling overwhelmed, a walk usually helps. Sometimes I take the dogs, other times I take my camera and shoot away. I love being one with nature. Nothing can quite compare to the peaceful serene feeling I get as I take in all of God’s beauty around me. Even greater is having the ability to take some amazing pictures and photographs that actually turn out.

Caught this hummingbird feeding on some flowers by the roadside ahead of me. At first I thought it was a hummingbird moth.

Caught this hummingbird feeding on some flowers by the roadside ahead of me. At first I thought it was a hummingbird moth.

Hummingbird Photo

Sparrows, robins, and ducks are easy to take pictures of–they will even pose and do the funniest things sometimes. But I let to catch the birds that love to hide or sit on the highest tree or tuck themselves behind leaves and thickets. Recently I got a new lens, the Nikon 70-300 mm which allows me to get most of those difficult distant shots crisp and clear.

Below is an American Kestrel (Sparrow Hawk/Falcon) flying over some crops on a farm. Then I caught the beautiful Cedar Waxwing landing on a weed at the side of the road. Sweet!

 

American Kestrel Picture

For years I have watched these beautiful birds soar over the river as I took daily walks. Recently I've been able to captivate their true beauty on film!

Soon I will be testing out my newest Tamron lens — 70-200 f2.8. Originally I purchased both the Nikon and Tamron, but with the Nikon and Tamron pretty much capable of doing the same things, I decided to save nearly $1,000 and go with the Tamron.

This lens is supposed to be fast, great in low light, and excellent for sports and weddings/portraits. Next week I will be officiating a wedding so I may not get the chance to use it then, however I am hoping to go to our local fair tonight for the horse speed racing competition.

Lisa Freeman is a an author, pastor/speaker, photographer, and dog trainer from Owosso, Michigan. http://www.dogspawsforhealing.com 

Leave a Reply

