Paws Before You Bite Off More Than You Can Chew

In the middle of dog obedience training and heading up the Paws 4 Healing Walkathon for Cancer and Abuse, I had been trying to get ready for a writing conference.

When we arrived in Wheaton, Illinois for the Write to Publish Conference on Tuesday, I had a mix of emotions. Anxieties and fears piled high during the five hour drive here, along with the thought of more rejection. Besides that, having to focus on so many other things I didn’t feel ready, I felt rushed.

My self-esteem had plummeted to an all time low. So many “What ifs” going through my head. Not to mention the fact that I would have to do this on my own away from the security and love of my pet therapy and service dogs.

My husband, John, came along to assist instead. So I introduced him in one of the sessions as my “Service Dog”. Laughter erupted throughout the entire class.

I had prayed for God’s provision before and during the conference. So I put my best paw forward, so to speak. Everything was going great, the workshops I signed up for, a couple of editors loved my book and wanted a proposal, and one wanted to pitch my book to his team of directors the next week! 

Then I came back to the hotel for lunch. I was famished, so I indulged myself in a nice chunk of pork spareribs. I was chomping hard knowing I didn’t have a lot of time. I bit through my tongue. Instant pain. It was a deep gash. But even worse–there was blood everywhere!

I thought back to a similar situation. John and I were at the movie theater and the same thing happened after eating a mouthful of popcorn. More embarrassing though because I ran to the bathroom and being unable to stop the bleeding I had to ask them to get my husband while holding a huge wad of wet paper towel on my tongue–do you know what that sounded like? I can laugh about it now, but back then I was mortified. 

The moral of this story–sometimes we bite off more than we can chew–and we get way ahead of God. 

Have you ever bitten off more than you could chew? If so it would be neat to share what God taught you through your experience 

 

That was just two days ago, but I feel like

Leave a Reply

